Word to Your Mother

Mother’s Day is next month, but today we celebrate the very most important mother of all.

Mother Earth.
seasons

I could go on for days about how frustrating it is to me to witness people mistreating the planet. I could just SCREAM about how it angers me when people simply don’t bother to do something as simple as recycling. I could also sheepishly admit that I’m not perfect when it comes to the treatment of the planet, but here are a few examples of what I do to make an effort:

RECYCLE- I am the Recycling Queen. Ask anyone. It’s kind of an obsession.
100_3767

REUSE- I almost always buy recycled water bottles to begin with, but when I do, I reuse them for at least a few days. I know those reusable bottles are cool and all, but I have issues with them. Especially those with straws. How do you ever truly get those straws clean?!

TURN OFF THE WATER- When I’m brushing my teeth. When I’m shaving my legs. When I’m washing dishes. I always turn off the water. We also recently purchased a high efficiency washer with sensors to ensure that no excess water is used. And while I absolutely hate the washer (HATE IT!!!), I appreciate it’s efforts to save the planet. Good job, crappy washer, keep it up.

DIY- When the weather warms up, we grow our own vegetables. When we have the time, we cook at home. Less packaging/garbage + healthier food is a win win!

LIGHTS- At least 75% of the lightbulbs in our home are compact florescent. I am also obsessive about turning off lights we aren’t using.

PAYING ONLINE- Sure, we still pay some bills by check but we pay the majority online, and even get the majority of our statements online. Less paper for the win!

And as I mentioned, I definitely have a few areas for improvement:

PAPER TOWEL- I can’t help it. It’s convenient. I’m working on it…

STRAWS- I use waaaaay too many plastic straws at work.

CONVENIENCE PACKAGING- I eat yogurt almost daily. And due to ease (and the deliciousness that is Chobani Flip), I eat yogurt from individual containers almost daily. Of course I always rinse and recycle them.

BAGS- I have reusable grocery bags. I just forget to take them with me. Like, every time I go to the store.

I want Mother Earth to be around for a really long time. And I want her to stay beautiful for as long possible so I’ll continue to work on my earth friendliness. You do the same, okay?

To celebrate the day I also wanted to eat something healthy. Something earthy, if you will. I kind of forgot about kale for a bit but today I remembered and boyyyyy am I glad I did.

Inspired by this recipe, Kale and Quinoa Salad is totally customizable to your tastes and the “base salad” is even great on it’s own.

kale&quinoa

Ingredients:
1 large bunch chopped kale
1/2 cup quinoa, cooked according to package directions
1/2 cup chopped pecans
1/2 cup chopped dried cranberries or cherries
Optional add-ins:
avocado
tomatoes
goat cheese
the possibilities are endless!

Directions:
Massage kale in large bowl for 3-5 minutes until broken down. Add some sea salt and olive oil while massaging, if you please. I do please, as this makes the massaging process a little easier. Add quinoa, pecans, cranberries/cherries, and all other desired ingredients. Toss to combine.

Dressing:
1/4 cup apple cider vinegar
1/4 cup olive oil
zest of one lemon
juice of one lemon
1 tbsp. fruit juice (I used pomegranate)
1 tsp. maple syrup, agave nectar, or honey
Whisk together all ingredients and pour over prepared salad. Toss to combine.

My reason for creating a “base salad” with optional add-ins is twofold. 1. I have a picky husband eater in my house. 2. I knew I would have leftovers for lunch tomorrow and didn’t want any of it to go bad/get brown or mushy. The base should all be sturdy enough to hold up for a day or so. That said, I added all of the add-ins to my portion of the salad and it was divine! I was skeptical about the goat cheese because I thought I wasn’t much of a fan, but today I just went for it and discovered I LOVE GOAT CHEESE! It’s going on every salad I eat from here forward. ALL. THE. GOAT. CHEESE.

k&q1

2 thoughts on “Word to Your Mother

  1. Pingback: Sunday 20 | thedishbytrish

Leave a Reply

