An A for Effort

About a month ago, I made a list of the things I like and made a promise to myself that I would make an effort to do more of these things. A promise to do more things that make me happy. A promise to spend less time worrying about the things that stress me out.

I’m happy to report that I’ve been making some progress here, for sure. It’s partially due to the fact that this is a slow time for me at work. It’s also partially due to the fact that when I still have work to do at the end of my day (as in the time that I’m technically scheduled to leave work), I’m letting myself actually leave work rather than staying until 7pm or later. The work will be there tomorrow, whether I want it to be or not. For the past few weeks, I’ve allowed myself one loooooong day at work, and then I’ve made a huge effort to get the heck out of there at a reasonable time the rest of the days.

This means I’ve been spending more time with my guys. And I love my guys so this is a major win.
IMG_20140407_215019

Two weeks ago we spent a sunny Sunday afternoon on my parents patio. We spent some quality time with just the two of them, but were also visited by neighbors and friends. Their patio is the neighborhood hangout in the summer so last weekend gave us hope that, after the longest winter ever, summer will truly be here some day.
20140330_155330

I’ve been baking.

IMG_20140330_091921

Quite a bit, actually.

IMG_20140406_125304

I’ve been reading! I finally finished “Gone Girl” (what a TERRIBLE ending!!!) and downloaded “Wild” right away but haven’t really gotten into it yet. Any other suggestions for me?
IMG_20140324_223423

I’ve been cooking! More time at home means more time to cook at home. Last Sunday we cooked out on the grill and it was faaaabulous!
20140406_150049

I’ve been adding some springy touches to my wardrobe. Okay, really only a springy green purse but I’m thinking of hitting up an outlet mall tomorrow to add to the collection.
20140326_120649

Let’s see how I’ve done with my list, shall we?

I like spending time with family and friends- CHECK!
I like baking- CHECK!
I like watching TV- CHECK! I finished Season 1 & 2 of Scandal in like a week.
I like musicals- no musicals since my last post, but we’ll say shopping counts as a musical so…CHECK!
I like cooking- CHECK!
I like sleeping- CHECK! Still going to bed at a decent hour, though I’ll admit that sometimes I wake up stressing out about something I may have forgotten to do at work.
I like reading- CHECK!
I also like blogging- well, as of right now…CHECK! I thought I’d get back into more of a regular routine but I’ve just been enjoying doing mindless activity so much that I haven’t taken the time to formulate an actual post.

I’d be lying if I said it’s been all sunshine and rainbows around here. I most definitely had one of those days at work yesterday. Tears and all. But I’m working on it. I really am. And just writing this post makes me feel a little bit better about everything. So thanks for listening. :)

7 thoughts on “An A for Effort

  1. i love seeing a post from you in my reader. it gives me the happy feelings! but i love seeing that you are doing such intentionally happy things for yourself, that’s so refreshing. happy sunday lady friend!

  2. Pingback: Summer Bucket List 2014 | trish tells it like it is

Leave a Reply

