giving thanks. the conclusion.

Soooo, I got a little behind on my giving thanks, huh?

This is going to be a monster of a post, but I started this thing and I’m going to finish it, darn it!

Day 19: I’m thankful for girlfriends. Because there’s just something about going out with the girls that has a slight edge over going out with a co-ed group. Conversations you might not have with the guys around, freedom to talk about shopping or lipstick without the fear of male eyes rolling. Freedom to not talk or hear about sports for a few hours. This is somewhat ironic for me because I’ve always considered myself “one of the guys”. And even though I don’t have a single bottle of wine in my house, I buy the majority of my makeup at Walgreen’s or Target, and tend to have a mouth like a sailor, I still treasure time spent with girlfriends.

holly bday

Day 20: I’m thankful for music. I don’t really even know where to begin on this, but music just makes life better. I went to a couple pretty spectacular concerts this year with some pretty spectacular people, too. I love that we have instant access to new music, but I will never get sick of seeing live music.
20130722_224038-1

Day 21: I’m thankful for my 20s. My particular fondness for the second decade of my life, might have something to do with the fact that it’s coming to an end in just a few hours. It’s true, the end of my first 29th year is here and it’s giving me an opportunity to reflect on all that I’ve learned in my 20s. I learned so much about people and relationships. About trust and character. About life and opportunity. About politics and making informed decisions. About what I wanted and didn’t want out of life, love, relationships. About accepting others for who they are and accepting that some people will never change. Most importantly, I learned so much about myself. In my 20s I traveled alone for the first time, I stood up for myself in some difficult situations, I said goodbye to relationships with people that were no good for me, I got married (!!), I met some of my best friends, I discovered my love for baking, I took chances, I went against the grain. And each and every one of those experiences helped me grow and learn, and helped me see a clearer picture of who I want to be.
solomex

Day 22: I’m thankful for my bed. It’s warm. It’s huge. It’s cozy. I share it with two of my very favorite beings on this earth.
One of them is Fielder. My love for marriage is not so great that we’re into sisterwives or brotherhusbands around here. (Is brotherhusband a thing?!)

Day 23: I’m thankful for my slow cooker. The sun going down before I even leave work really kills my motivation to cook when I get home so my slow cooker has been a complete savior over the past month or so. We had 7 slow cooker meals in two weeks, no joke. And even though we’ve been doing fairly healthy slow cooker meals, the process by which they’ve been prepared makes them feel like comfort food all the same.

Day 24: I’m thankful for vacation. Winter is officially here, which makes the countdown to vacation seem longer than ever. But I can’t help but be thankful that I even have a vacation countdown. I’ve been fortunate enough to travel to a warm clime just about every winter for the last 15ish years and I do not take that for granted. I know how lucky I am to get away for a week in the midst of messy winter chaos and I’m thankful that the importance of getting away was instilled in me at a young age. It’s good for the mind, the body, and the soul, but in my experience, it’s not always so great for the liver. ;)
pdc2

Day 25: I’m thankful for marriage. Not just the act of marriage, or the sanctity of it, or even my marriage specifically, but all of the goodness surrounding marriage; bridal showers, bachelorette parties, preparations. I’m also thankful that my parents have set such a great example of how marriage should work. Of course there will be disagreements and differences of opinion, just like every relationship. But you work it out, you talk (maybe after a little bit of the silent treatment), and you come to an agreement. Sometimes you even agree to disagree, but you don’t give up. Some people, it seems, give up long before they try any of the age old advice to keep a marriage together. I feel sad for those people.
wedding

Day 26: I’m thankful for days off. Gosh, is there anything more fantastic than a random weekday off of work? Some of my days off consist of nothing more than lounging on the couch all day, other days off consist of getting things done that I’ve put off too long, getting my house back in order, and running errands when so much of the rest of the world is at work.

Day 27: I’m thankful for grandparents. Sadly, all of mine have passed but I fondly recount memories of them each day. Grandparents are a true treasure.

Day 28: I’m thankful for holidays. Of course you can get together with family any ol’ day of the week, but it just doesn’t happen often enough, which makes me extra grateful for the holiday season. Getting everyone together to laugh, eat, and share stories puts a smile on my face.

Day 29: I’m thankful for food. It brings people together. It’s comforting. It can take you on a trip around the world without ever leaving your dining room. It can take you to a specific time, a place, a memory. It’s kind of the reason I started this blog, which has allowed me to “meet” some pretty awesome people.

Day 30: I’m thankful for life. I know, so deep, right? But honestly, life is much too short and I’m grateful every single day that I get to keep living this beautiful life.

bday

One thought on “giving thanks. the conclusion.

Leave a Reply

