Thirsty Thursday: Gloria Skinny Jeans

No booze here this week. This Thirsty Thursday sip won’t help you unwind from a long week, but it will keep you motivated for whatever else you need to get through this week. That being said, this would probably be pretty tasty if you added a shot of Kahlua…

Growing up in a small town, the nearest shopping mall was about an hour away. This meant that all aspects of going shopping were a real treat. Sure American Eagle, Abercrombie & Fitch, and Vanity were awesome, but even more exciting was the food court. Cinnamon sugar pretzel from Auntie Anne’s? Spaghetti from Sbarro? McNuggets from McDonald’s? Oh yeah, I wanted it all. Fast food was simply not an option back home.

(source)

I’ll admit though, it was difficult to find any fast food to meet my ultra picky eating criteria. No cheese, no red meat, minimal bread, extra pasta, no seasoning, etc. Ugh, I was such a pain!

One thing that was always right up my alley was a Mocha Chiller from Gloria Jean’s. Chocolatey, ice cold, topped with a pound of whipped cream…mmmmmm. My favorite was Cookies ‘N Cream but I also remember a Banana Split Chiller that I can’t seem to find on their website. I haven’t been to GJ’s in years but I’m sure it’s still up on their menu board. While I can’t find any definitive nutritional information on GJ’s website, I know that these tasty treats rang in around 600 each. 600 calories for a coffee drink?! Okay, we all know I didn’t drink these for the caffeine. I drank them because they tasted like an ice cream treat. And apparently had about as many calories.

By accident a couple of weeks ago, I made something really similar tasting to my beloved old friend the Banana Split Mocha Chiller. With half the calories, all of the flavor & an added protein boost, this treat has quickly become my favorite breakfast on the go.

**Sidenote: I just got tooootally distracted/motivated and spent the past 3 hours cleaning our couch, dusting, vacuuming, rearranging all of our living room furniture & consequently spot cleaning the previously well hidden stains on our carpet. Now back to blogging!

So the next time you’re craving a calorie-laden “coffee” drink from your favorite coffee joint, try this one instead. After all, autumn is just around the corner & nothing goes better with new fall boots than a pair of dark wash skinny jeans. ;)

Here’s what you’ll need:
1 sliced & frozen banana
2/3 cup cold coffee
1/4 cup milk (I used Blue Diamond Unsweetened Almond Coconut Almond Breeze)
1+ tbsp Greek yogurt
1 tbsp peanut butter
3-4 strawberries
small handful dark chocolate chips

Throw it all in the blender, hit the button & let it spin until it’s a nice, smooth consistency.

Enjoy!

It’s been a busy week so I missed the boat on WIAW but eats this week have been simple & somewhat repetitive.

Lots of oats:

Plus muffins:

Simple skillet dinner:

Simple cheeseburgers:

And just now, cheeseburger salad(??):

I have a long night at work ahead of me, followed by a mid shift tomorrow. More baking is in store for the weekend, as well as a surprise party for a friend. Next week brings about some changes for me. Good changes. I’ll share soon, promise.

Hope you’re having a great week!

My cleaning got me thinking about a conversation I had with my mom last week. Do you dust or vacuum first? Consider both options: Dust first & then vacuum up the dust? Or vacuum first & then clean up the dust you’ve just conjured up from the carpet? Today I realized that I sort of vacuum before AND after dusting. Not intentionally. It’s just that I have cleaning ADD so I start out vacuuming, get distracted with dusting & then run the vacuum over everything once more.

Leave a Reply

