He’s HOME!!!!

You may have noticed that I don’t often “dish” about my husband during the week. You may also notice that I talk about him so much on my weekend posts that you probably want to puke. Well, there is a reason for that.

Since the end of last April, we’re talking over a year ago here, my husband has been working on a project three. hours. from. home. Which means, of course, that driving 3 hours one way was not an option every day. Which also means that he stayed in a hotel, three hours away, Monday (sometimes Sunday) through Thursday every week. This was not the first time he’s had to stay away from home, but I’ll tell you what, it never gets easier. Of course I thanked my lucky stars every day of his absence that he wasn’t in Iraq or Afghanistan & was able to at least be home on the weekends. His being gone was certainly not under the worst of circumstances but it also wasn’t much fun.

The fact that my husband was gone 4 nights a weeks wasn’t something I ever wanted to put out there on the interwebs, but now that he’s home?!?

Halle-freaking-lujah my husband lives at home again!!!

I can’t even tell you how great it is to have him home. It means so many wonderful things. It means he can make fun of my taking pictures of my food every day, rather than just on the weekends.

It means we can go grocery shopping for meals we can actually eat together more than once or twice a week.

It means I can save money by buying a whole watermelon & not have to worry about it going to waste.

It means fewer long days for our Fielder.

It means we can do fun things, like go to Brewers games, more often because we aren’t trying to schedule all of our life together into each weekend.

It means the wood flooring we purchased for our house almost a year ago can finally be put in by my handy hubby.

It means that if I feel like having a drink with dinner during the week, I don’t have to drink (or eat!) alone.

It means that our usual Sunday night dinner at home doesn’t have to be immediately followed by an early bedtime so that he can get up & drive to work at 3am.

Most of all, it means that I can kiss my funny, sexy, sweet, caring, gentle, amazing husband that I love so very much, goodnight, every night. And that, my friends, means everything.

**Sorry for the gushing. Can you tell that I’ve missed him?**

3 thoughts on “He’s HOME!!!!

  1. This is the BEST news!! I’m currently in year 4 of a long distance relationship (it’s been long distance for 3 of the 4 years!) and am waiting anxiously for August, when we live together again. You’re a lucky lady, welcome home to your man!

    • Oh man, long distance is the WORST. Even though we’ve technically lived together for 5 years, we’ve spent many weeks apart while he’s away on work projects. I know you have plenty of fun stuff to accomplish before you move, but I’ll be counting down the days with you until you’re reunited with your lovahh. ;)

  2. Pingback: He’s HOME!!!! Part 2 and x 2 « thedishbytrish

Leave a Reply

