Mothers & Daugthers

Some of us are lucky enough to have a mother we can also call our best friend. I am one of those lucky ones and was thrilled to spend Mother’s Day with my wonderful mother.

Friday & Saturday were a bit of a whirlwind, and while Sunday involved lots of travel, it was still a great day.

My mom and I took off around 10:30 Sunday morning to drive to Ripon, WI for my cousin Lexi’s college graduation. When I say cousin, I really mean little sister, as we’ve always thought of each other more like sisters than cousins. Could be because her mom is My Other Mother. Confused yet? I don’t blame you. Lexi’s mom is my dad’s sister, but I’m her mother’s “first born”. Is this getting more confusing? I bet so. Don’t worry ’bout it. I promise my aunt is not my mom, but my mom is my mom, and my cousin is my sister. I’ve definitely confused you now and I couldn’t be laughing harder about it. All you need to know really, is that I love all of ‘em. And on Sunday, I got to see the whole crew.

It was a gorgeous day for an outdoor ceremony. The sun was shining, the temperature was just right, there was a bit of a breeze but no wind.

Splendid.

Ripon College. Harrison Ford went here. And I’m pretty sure he flunked out.

Flipping her tassel, officially a graduate!

My Other Mother, little sisters, and I.

Sisters. But not really. ;)

So proud of you Lexi, congratulations!!!

Sunday was a great day. As is any day that I get to visit with some of my favorite people.

And because none of the photos I took with my actual mother on Sunday turned out, here’s one of us from wayyy back.

Circa 1985

Love you mom!

And when I got home, my little man was waiting for me outside. He didn’t come right out and say it but I know he thinks I’m the best mom ever and he wouldn’t trade me for any other mother in the world.

I’ll be getting even more quality time with mom starting tonight when we embark on our 14ish hour road trip to Pennsylvania. Yowzas! That’s a whole lot of time in the car. I think we’ll survive, but we may argue over musical soundtracks a bit. She likes RENT the movie soundtrack. But come on, we all know that RENT OBC is the only way to go!! ;)

Have a great week, everyone! I might do a post or two from PA, but not making any plans other than to just enjoy some time away from work, with my parents. I’ll sure miss my boys at home though. Some major quality time with these two is in order when I get back.

Leave a Reply

