Cranberry Orange Muffin Top Cookies

Kristin posted a recipe for Blueberry Muffin Top Cookies a couple of months ago and it’s been on my mind ever since. I’m not sure why I didn’t just go right out and buy the stuff I needed at the time but I realized this past Wednesday that I had all of the ingredients on hand to make my own version.

I only had Craisins on hand but I think fresh cranberries or even frozen, then thawed, cranberries would be better. I think it would help to somewhat “infuse” the cranberry flavor throughout the cookie. This recipe only made 11 cookies so next time I might make them slightly smaller & get a little more bang for the muffin top buck!

These cookies are soft, sweet & pillowy, just like the best part of a muffin…the top!

Cranberry Orange Muffin Top Cookies

Adapted from Iowa Girl Eats

Ingredients:

2 cups flour

2 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 cup salted butter, softened

1 cup sugar

1 egg

1/3 cup milk (I used almond, which looked a bit funky but turned out just fine.)

1/2 teaspoon almond extract

1 teaspoon orange juice (I just squeezed it right outta the orange I zested.)

1 tablespoon orange zest

1 cup frozen cranberries, thawed and drained (Or fresh. Or Craisins.)

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Combine flour, baking powder, and salt in a bowl, set aside.

2. Cream together butter and sugar in bowl of electric mixer until combined. Add in egg and beat until combined. Add milk, almond extract, orange juice and orange zest then beat until combined.

3. Slowly add dry ingredients into the wet ingredients, and mix until combined. Gently fold in cranberries.

4. Refrigerate the dough for at least one hour, then shape into large balls. Bake 6 to a baking sheet for 13-15 minutes, or until slightly golden brown on the bottom, and set on top. Do not overbake. Let cool on the baking sheet for 5 minutes, then transfer to a cooling rack to cool all the way.

Enjoy!!

3 thoughts on “Cranberry Orange Muffin Top Cookies

  1. Pingback: This Little Blog Of Mine… | thedishbytrish

Leave a Reply

